It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Speech & Language Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-25-2003, 10:52 AM   #1

mommyof5 HB User
Question speech delay in 6 year old

My 6 year old daughter is still speech delayed, she has come along way over the last 4 years but there are still times where Daddy, Grandma, aunt, siblings, teachers, or sparks (girl guides) leaders have trouble understanding her. Strangers often ask me what she has said. She had speech therapy at the hospital from 3 years old until 5 1/2 years old,but once you enter school the hospital stops and you have to rely on the school. She has been on the priority waiting list since September and still hasn't been assessed by the school speech pathologist! Does anyone else have a child this old with this problem?

mommyof5

Old 01-27-2003, 08:17 PM   #2

Cheryl3 HB User
Hi there,
I am an occupational therapist with a public school district in the states. Your regulations in Canada are probably very different from ours, but when a parent signs for permission for the speech therapist to evaluate their child, the district has to state in writing on the form how long it will take to complete the evaluation. In the district I work in now, it says on the form something like, "the length of time needed to complete this evaluation is 45 days, and will be completed on or before such-and-such a date." That is the law, and if we go beyond that date we have to notify the parent and have them sign again, but everyone takes the law pretty seriously and the evaluation is almost always completed in that amount of time.