It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-19-2007, 08:56 AM   #1
(female)

TruthseekerTn HB UserTruthseekerTn HB UserTruthseekerTn HB UserTruthseekerTn HB UserTruthseekerTn HB UserTruthseekerTn HB User
I have a question Please

I know this is a dumb question but I know Ya'll will know..I'm just learning about all this..what is spondylosis and facet arthropathy and one more uncovertebral hypertrophy?? I tried doing a search on google but it's all greek to me and I know Ya'll will put it in english for me..thanks for all Ya'lls help it really means alot to me

Old 01-19-2007, 10:38 AM   #2
Inactive
(female)

PNo HB User
Re: I have a question Please

spondylosis is a fancy word for spinal osteoarthritis. it is a degenerative disease that may cause loss of normal spinal structure and function. Mostly aging is the primary cause, but things like accidents etc, can cause damage and speed that process in young people. this is an easy word to lookup and there are lots of good sites to learn about your spine.

24 vertebrae make up our spine. There are two facet joints between the vertebrae of each spinal segment along the spinal column. The segments are numbered, you know like C4, C5, etc. C's for the cervical neck, T's for the Thoracic, L's for the lumbar,

The facet joints and disc space form a unit near each vertebrae. A facet joint has two bony surfaces with cartilage between them and ligaments surrounding it. Synovial fluid lubricates the joints as is the case with any joint. Facet Arthropathy is degenerative arthritis affecting the facet joints. Arthritis in the facet joints can develop from:

wear and tear (decreases space between vertebrae causing facet joints to rub together)
previous back injury
fractures
torn ligaments
disc problems