It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2007, 04:17 PM   #1
(female)

deannette1 HB User
Sleeping problems after ACDF surgery

Hello all,

I'm a newbie here and after reading through some of the posts I wish I would have found this site before surgery. Brief summary: I've had neck and shoulder pain for 5+ years and finally found a doctor who was willing to help me. I was diagnosed with cervical kyphosis, 1 herniated disc , 1 bulging disc, myelopathy and degenerative disc disease. I'm 28 years old (yes pretty young to have all those problems)and had 2 level(c4/5/6) ACDF surgery with plating and screws on Dec. 4th. So far so good with minor problems. The biggest of my problems now are sleep deprivation. I started out in the bed the first few days then went to the recliner for 5 weeks now back to the bed. Now when I awake in the morning my neck and both shoulders are stiff. When in the recliner I can't get to sleep until like 3am then up every so often readjusting. Well I got the okay today to go back to work on Monday and am kinda worried about how the lack of sleeep will effect me at work. What is a lady to do? Any tips or products that you found to work Please let me know.

Old 01-24-2007, 06:04 PM   #2
Facilitator
(female)

SpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB UserSpineAZ HB User
Re: Sleeping problems after ACDF surgery

I had a hard time sleeping while wearing the cervical collar for the first 6 weeks after the fusion surgery. You may want to see if your physician thinks a sleep aid for a small period of time may help (i.e. Ambien or Lunesta).

I found that for the first 12 weeks I was best sleeping on my back, with a pillow under my knees and my head aligned straight with pillows.