It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2007, 06:37 PM   #1
(female)

poopoopadoop HB User
MRI Results - Severe Spinal Stenosis

Hi, All,
This is my first time posting here. i have 2 surgical consults scheduled with top NYC drs in 2 wks. I am wondering what your impressions are of these findings. From what I read on these boards, it seems like I will need the surgery. I wonder what kind of surgery I will likely need.

I'd like to give you the summary of my MRI:

Impressions: Severe spinal stenosis at C5-6, attributed to herniated disc and osteophyte, with associated localized spinal cord compression, resulting in edema and/or myelomalacia.

I went for the MRI after having months of pins and needles feeling and numbness, clumsiness in my L hand and arm. My EMG test was normal. A month of PT (3x/wk) has done nothing.

More excerpts from the MRI report: at C6-7 "mild to moderate annular bulge." And at C4-5, "there is moderate left paracentral ventral extradural defect, attributed to assymetrically bulging disc tissue, osteophyte, and ossification of the posterior longitudinal ligament."

Thanks so much for any input - also, if I did need surgery, how long until I can return to work (I work part-time, mostly sitting, and create my own hours)? I also have a toddler and 6 year old - I wonder how long until I will be able to care for my toddler by myself (put him into a carseat, change his diaper).

Thanks so much,
Lisa

Old 03-17-2007, 06:41 AM   #2
Veteran
(female)

PearlDoves HB User
Re: MRI Results - Severe Spinal Stenosis

Because you have the osteophyte, aka bone spur, the surgery that will most likely be offered is a Fusion. Anterior Cervical Discetomy and Fusion or ACDF.