It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-15-2008, 11:29 AM   #1
(female)

mommaovfive HB User
Collars for ACDF recovery

Hello- I'm a newbie. I'll be having a two level ACDF next week (C5-C6, C6-C7). My surgeon has already performed three successful lumbar surgeries on me, so I trust her implicitly. However, when we discussed my ACDF surgery, I asked about wearing a collar post-surgery. She said that she typically doesn't have her patients wear them, but after reading the posts here, it sounds like just about everyone has worn one. I feel like I should wear one, but would like some input from those who have paved the way before.

Thanks for any help you can offer.

Nikki

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-15-2008, 11:45 AM   #2
Inactive
(female)

PNo HB User
Re: Collars for ACDF recovery

Hi - and welcome. Collar use is a surgeon preference to use or not. Not everyone wears them. You do find more people with multiple levels wearing them, but there have been lots of people here that didn't.

Your instrumentation will hold your fusion site in place until it fuses so you shouldn't worry. My surgeon said that he prefers them because most patients start feeling so good right after surgery that he likes to slow their activity down by the ball and chain (collar).

If you research you will find studies that show people with instrumentation and no collar fuse as well as people without instrumentation and who wore a collar. If you have any other health problems that would slow or prevent fusion then wearing the collar might be a good thing to ask for. (e.g. smoking, osteoporosis, etc.)