It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-12-2008, 11:22 PM   #1
(female)

helenoftroy HB User
Arrow acdf of C4-C5 in '00, C5-C6-C-7 in '06... still in pain. now facet injections?

Hello everyone, I am new to healthboards but I have gotten a lot of reading posts over the past couple of weeks. I have a question for people who have had their symptoms return after surgery. Basically, if 4 ESI's haven't helped, what about facet injections? to get there, I need to give my history.

My situation: I am 33 years old and trying to practice law but experiencing a lot of pain in my neck and arms, weakness, tingling fingers, and nausea. In January 2002, after about 18 months of problems and conservative treatment, I had ACDF at C4-C5, with cadaver bone and no hardware. I woke up in the hospital without arm pain, recovered completely, and put it behind me. I was able to carry my books and laptop everywhere in law school, able to water ski, jog, rollerblade, & work out without any trouble.

A little over a year after I finished school, and almost 5 years after my first surgery, the familiar pain returned. After 2 months of pt, they did an MRI and the NS scheduled me for surgery immediately. (A different NS than before because I live in a different state). I had ACDF at C5-C6-C-7 in December 2006, again with cadaver bone and this time with hardware.