It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-16-2002, 02:34 PM   #1

Felix HB User
Cervical Spine C3 C4

Hi! My name is Felix, I'm 47, Male and from Canada. I'm new to the message board thing. I just had an MRI last Monday. My Dr. phoned yesterday said I have a severe herniated disc in the C3 C4 level. He suggested the neurologist will be contacting me and it will more then likely mean surgery. I have numbness and tingling in both hands and forarms, stiff neck, but no real pain. This has been going on for about 2 1/2 years now. I am very active in all that I do. I love running, biking, backpacking, canoeing and am very worried about surgery and being laid up for any length of time. I'm also worried about after surgery will I be able to do the things I enjoy. What is the success rate of surgery? The little that I have found on the internet suggests only 50% success rate and 80% don't need surgery. Are there any alternatives to surgery? Is physio therapy a possibility? Or traction? or massage therapy? or? I'm generally pretty positive, but at the moment paranoid and depressed. Where can I go to find more information? Any help would be appreciated. It is good to see by the message board that I am not the only one in the world with this problem. Thanks.

[This message has been edited by Felix (edited 03-17-2002).]<p>[This message has been edited by moderator3 (edited 04-21-2002).]

Old 03-16-2002, 11:23 PM   #2
Veteran

Kamden HB User
Re: Cervical Spine C3 C4