It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-29-2011, 11:23 PM   #1
(female)

CountryGirl1960 HB User
Angry Need help understanding C-spine MRI~NOT cortisone shot

I am a healthy 50-year-old woman. I'm a massage therapist and I've had numbness and tingling in my right arm off and on for at least five years. Two weeks ago, after an overzealous bout of tree trimming, yard work and gardening I found myself in excruciating pain that has not subsided. I've had two MRI's, one on my shoulder and the other of my C-spine. The shoulder said I had joint degenerative change and rotator cuff tendinosis with a focal high-grade partial tear of the anterior distal supraspinatus tendon involving both the articular and bursal surfaces (involving greater than 90% of the tendon thickness) along with early glenohumeral joint osteoarthritis and mild subacromial subdeltoid bursitis.
But that's a different post, and probably the good news.

The C-spine MRI sounds much scarier and I'd really like to know what I'm dealing considering my profession which I love, my desire to continue doing it, and my knowing a shot of cortisone isn't going to FIX anything. As much as I want this pain to go away, I don't want to be dealing with it again over and over if it really does need fixing to go away.

The findings say there is marked spondylotic change mainly of the lower cervical spine.
At the C2-C3 level, there is left uncovertebral joint hypertrophic change and facet arthropathy resulting in moderate left neural foraminal stenosis.

At the C3 – C4 level, there is a broad-based disc osteophyte complex effacing the anterior thecal sac resulting in an AP dimension of 8 –9 mm. There is bilateral uncovertebral joint hypertrophic change and mild facet arthropathy resulting in moderate to severe left and moderate right neural foraminal stenosis.