It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-23-2012, 07:18 PM   #1
(female)

Brandi893 HB User
Unhappy Being a pain in the neck :(

Hello All,

I'm new to this website, but have read alot of the messages u have all posted and i am in the same boat. I have severe spinal stenosis in c3-4 moderate in c5-6, and moderate in c6-7, i saw a NS yesterday who looked at my mri, and told me and my husband all this information. Now i have been a registered nurse for 11years on a med/surg floor, but all of this is very difficult to understand even w/ medical knowledge. I had an injury when i was 16 doing a full twist that unfortunately one time of doing it landed on my head, hearing my whole neck crack, and my chin going into my chest, bruising my sternum. Nothing was broken but pulled all my tendons in my neck. So since this injury i have always had neck pain. I have had numbness here and there, had mri's 5yrs ago saw NS but reported if i didn't have pain then u want to just see if i could deal with it, and said looking at the mri' it didn't look as bad as the pcp thought and called me right away saying i needed to see a NS right away. So for the five years i dealt w/ it and the numbness weirdly went away but this year has come back all the time w/ neck movement and thats' when i had the mri, and they told me i had all this severity and moderate spinal cord compression from bone spurs and herniated discs. So this NS said i would have to have an anterior fusion from c3-c7. I'm so scared!!!!!! i have looked on the internet and read horror stories, i'm scared of not having good results, and ruining my life w/ my son and husband and step kids. i want to be able to continue being a nurse, i've worked in a hospital since i was 15, this dr. i was recommended by a physiotherapist to go see, and then i discussed what this dr. said and