It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-19-2012, 12:06 AM   #1
Veteran
(female)

legallyblondied HB User
When to have Surgery? Cervical Spinal Stenosis

Hi my name is Karen or Blondie, and I am a 68 year old professional dancer with a very bad back. I currently have two fusions of my cervical spine which have fused by themselves. The neurosurgeon said I have severe stenosis and one vertbra is trying to move but is sideways and is pressing on a nerve root. I am not in horrible pain like I had with my hip before I had a hip resurface. He said the canal is narrowing and it is my call when i feel I need the surgery or not. He said one surgery would take care of it, but i have smptoms down my arms, fingers and neck of tingling and like sleeping....no numbness and then it travels to the right leg and into the knee....burning and stickers. I can live with the pain, but would surgery make me better? How do I know that there is not a problem with the lower lumbar spine since there was before again stenois and spondy? He says it is cervical.....please any advice would be of help. I am in no mans land! I am 5'1" and weigh 103 and in good shape. I do Pilates with a trainer on the equipment and it has saved my life so far. I work at a computer 43 hours a week and am stressed . I do computer website and Social Media marketing for dentists and doctors and they are stressful to work with! Blondie

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-19-2012, 06:17 AM   #2
Inactive
(female)

WebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB User
Re: When to have Surgery? Cervical Spinal Stenosis