It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2012, 05:20 PM   #1
(female)

cicarpen HB User
degenerative changes in particular at C5-6

Hi everyone,

This is my first time to post, and I'm very happy to have found this site! I just received my results back from an X-ray of my neck, and I don't have a clue as to what it means (other than what I typed in my title). Here is what the report said:

Straightening of the cervical spine identified with no prevertebral

soft tissue swelling, fracture or dislocation. Mild to moderate disc

space narrowing with anterior posterior osteophytes anteriorly and

posteriorly at C5-C6 is noted with mild bilateral foraminal narrowing

at this level. Elsewhere unremarkable except for mild facet

hypertrophy.

My symptoms include intense pain in my right upper arm down to my elbow, and numbness in my hand and wrist, and in the tips of my fingers. My doc wants me to go to PT and take anti-inflammatories. I'm a female, 57 yo, and also have a herniated disk in my spine (and recently received shots to relieve the pain at L4/5).

Could anyone tell me what this all means in layman's terms? I would really appreciate it very much!

Best wishes to you all!

The following user gives a hug of support to cicarpen:
Hemlock07 (11-17-2012)
Old 11-19-2012, 05:51 PM   #2
Inactive
(female)

WebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB UserWebDozer HB User
Re: degenerative changes in particular at C5-6

It doesn't look bad, but an MRI would be more informative.

Tingling in the TIPS of your fingers? All of them? If so, that doesn't sound like a spinal problem, but I'm an amateur here.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-19-2012, 06:08 PM   #3
(female)

cicarpen HB User