It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-13-2012, 08:46 PM   #1
(female)

lalea878 HB User
Question Cervical Laminectomy, C2 thru c7 with 2 fusions

I am 52, in good shape and I am a nurse and was a yoga instructor ..yoga will have to wait a couple more months. I had an ACF, anterior cervical fusion at c5/c6 10 yrs ago...i regret that decision and swored never to do a surgery again! But due to constant shocking to my legs with any bending forward, and loss of balance, loss of feeling to my hands etc...I saw a neurosugeon and he told me my spinal cord being compressed in 3 places, I had a laminectomy 5 weeks ago..c2 thru c/7. I also ended up with 2 more fusions..i know c3/4 and I think the other is at c6/7..surgeon not real clear but I plan to get my post-op notes and surgery notes. I want to know what I am looking at. I went back to work 2 weeks after surgery as I had no time off pay and progressing ok right now, better than I expected (:...I hurt and have a bad day here and there but less and less often these days... but always have and surgeon did not promise any pain relief, just to stop further nuerological damage and and to prevent paralysis. At 5 weeks I think I am doing well compared to many...my NS did not give me much direction post-op...discharged me at my 10 day f/u post-op visit and told me to call if i had issues. How would I know if i had issues? LOL I have googled and searched..but it appears most surgeries are different. He did not tell me to wear a collar, he discouraged it, but i did at times cos it felt better with it on. I just wanted to see if anyone else had a similar surgery? At this point, I have 3 fusions but 1 fusion is 10 yrs oldC5/6 was done as an ACF then 2 more 5 weeks, c3/4 and c6/7 ago with the laminectomy....As a nurse, I know there are only 7 cervical vertebrae, C1 thru C7, and