It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-24-2013, 09:17 AM   #1
(female)

MJude68 HB User
Red face MRI results regarding neck... CSF obliteration?

Hello everyone. I have been visiting these boards for a few years now. As back issues come and go. I have had lower back pain, thrown it out a few times, but it always manages to fix itself over time.

For the last year I have been dealing with neck and shoulder pain that has not gone away. Pain, crackling, major discomfort in neck, goes down into deep pain in both shoulders. Left arm weaker, tingly in fingers, and odd feelings in back of forearm by elbow. The pain has sometimes gone up left side of neck into ear.

I have seen a chiropractor which made it much worse, several GP and orthopedic visits and got muscle relaxes and pain meds. Last week I finally put in for extended sick leave as pain was interfering with my job as a high school teacher. MY Primary finally got me to get an MRI (I had been reluctant due to high cost) and after he got the results is referring me to a neurosurgeon ASAP. Here is the report. Any comments, insights, or interpretations will be much appreciated. Thanks so much in advance!

C2-3 no significant findings

C3-4 shallow left foraminal disc protusion with mild encroachment on the left C4 nerve root

C4-5 no significant findings. Minimal left foraminal

C5-6 broad based disc protusion and osteophytic ridging and uncinate spurring with mass effect on the ventral thecal sac and near obliteration of the anterior CSF space. There is also moderate foraminal stenosis bilaterally and both C6 nerve roots could be affected.

C6-7 small focal central disc protusion with focal impression on the ventral thecal sac.

C7-T1 no significant findings

Any help? I am a 44 year old female. I was in a few minor car accidents in my youth but nothing recent.