It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-04-2013, 07:35 AM   #1
(male)

Blue Blurrr HB User
Need a little insight please

Hello,
I am new to this sight but not new to neck and arm pain.
I am a 58 year old male with severe pain down my neck and left arm down to my thumb. I have had this for about 7 years. I also have a problem with my left leg. I have an abnormal gait....I tend to drag my leg somewhat. It does not have any pain associated with this problem, but it IS a pain to ME!!

I have had an MRI a few weeks ago and have an appointment with a neurosurgeon on the 12th of July.

I will post the MRI radiologists impression. If anyone can shed some light on what this means, I would very much appreciate it. I know that there are people on this site with lots of knowledge and advise.

1. There is severe spinal canal stenosis and severe cord compression at C5-C6 from a large broad-based disk osteophyte complex. The thecal sac is narrowed to 4 mm in AP dimension with abnormal cord signal suggesting myelomalacia.

2. There is severe spinal canal stenosis at C4-C5 from a large broad-based disk osteophyte complex. It causes moderate cord compression. The thecal sac is narrowed to 6mm in AP dimension.

3. There is severe spinal canal stenosis at C3-C4 from a diffuse disk osteophyte complex with a central disk protrusion. The disk protrusion contacts and moderately indents the ventral aspect of the cord, narrowing the thecal ac to 7mm in AP dimension.

4. Moderate canal stenosis is present from a large broad-based posterior disk osteophyte complex at C6-C7. It causes mild flattening of the ventral aspect of the cord without cord contact. The thecal sac measures 8mm in AP dimension.