It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Spinal Cord Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-18-2003, 07:26 AM   #1

CLJones64 HB User
Post C5-C6 bulging disc...severe pain!

Hello all. New to board, and new to dx of bulging C5/C6 disc. Am in extruciating pain in right shoulder blade area and down my right arm. Numbness/weakness from armpit to fingers. Saw neurologist 3 weeks ago, had MRI, ESI last Monday, and am seeing chiropractor. Nothing is helping with this pain. I'm scared to know I may be facing surgery, but this pain is incredible. I can't work...I drive for a living ...because I'm having to stay doped up on narcotics and muscle relaxers to even function. I've had several pity parties for myself, and am now trying to educate myself for what the future may hold. The potential of relief from surgery makes it a viable option right now, but after reading some of the posts here, I'm not so sure anymore. My neuro has mentioned another ESI before proceeding with other options, but the first one didn't help. I feel like I'm just prolonging the inevitable, but am scared to death of that, too. All I know is I can't stand this pain, and I hate taking narcotics! I feel so hopeless...like there isn't a answer at this point...and I don't know what to do. How do you all cope with the constant pain? And do you have any quality of life? Oh, and by the way, I'm female, 39 years old, and already live with a dx of Multiple Sclerosis. Thanks for letting me vent, and for any advice or experiences you can share.

2 bulging and 1 herniated disc 09/03. Bulging at C5/C6 and C6/C7 levels. Herniation with foraminal narrowing and obvious nerve root compression at T1/T2.

Old 10-18-2003, 08:16 AM   #2

LisaM HB User
Hi CL,