It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Stress Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2005, 07:42 AM   #1
(female)

Countrygirl1 HB User
My job is killing me

I am a social worker at a large public university hospital. When I first began working there I considered myself to be so furtunate to have such a great job. However, as time has gone by the stress has gotten steadily worse. Some days it almost seems unbearable. The program director for the unit I am social worker for said,"We are all bending over backwards to help our patients and its killing us". I agree! There is so much responsibility involved. Then, if I use my professional judgement I get into trouble with TPTB. If I don't use my professional judgement I get into trouble with TPTB. If I do what I am told I get into trouble with TPTB. If I don't do what I am told I get into trouble with TPTB. All I want to do is keep my mouth shut and do my job, but that does not work either. I wake up thinking about how I am going to help my patients get to their appointments, pay their utility bills, get their medication, secure lodging, cope with their illness, settle insurance issues, respect their religious practices, etc. On the unit I work at, we pamper our patients. We treat them like royalty. We do everything for them and all of that usually ends up in my lap at some point and time. I have to battle heavy traffic going to and from work-adding two hours to my commute. The pay is alot better than my last job. The beneifts are fine. Retirement is good. Yet, I stay stressed almost all the time. I was at work Friday til 7:30 pm. A caregiver had sent me two e-mails that were basically blasting me out of the water for the way I was handling the patient's case. All I could do when I read those e-mails was to sob. Then, after I pulled myself togehter I took great pains to word my response to the caregiver. The caregiver s