It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Stress Message Board

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-12-2008, 11:52 AM   #1
(male)

J S Machine HB User
Could this be stress getting to me?

I am having some trouble with what I think is stress, and I think that my work schedule may be causing it. This is kind of long but I really need to vent.

First off, a little back ground on the company I am with and some notes on the situation:
I have been with the company I work with for going on 4 years and I really like my job. However, there are times when I wish that I had another one. I work in a tool and die shop for a company that builds shelves. The kinds of shelves that you see in walmart and autozone and a bunch of other retail stores. Basically I am a machinist. I program and run CNC machines.

What aggrivates me about this place is their crazy hours. First off, understand that we are the die shop that builds and does maintenance on the dies that produce these products. Therefore, if they break something we have to fix it (usually we work without stopping because they need it to make more parts). We also have to be here any time production is running, in case something messes up. Production routinely gets behind schedule, so that puts us here on the weekends.

Very often the salesmen will go out and sell a product that we don't even have a die for yet. And the customer buys like a million parts and needs them "yesterday". So we have to work around the clock to get the stuff made and get it to them. Sometimes they will mess up an order out on the floor because an operator wasn't paying attention or something, and they needed those parts like last week so the commence to making new ones to replace the ones that they messed up...