It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Stroke Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2006, 01:23 PM   #1
(female)

agitate HB User
Stroke treatment for the elderly?

I really feel that my mother's doctors are writing her off because she is 82. I know she won't live forever but I would like to do whatever I can for her, and not being a doctor I don't know what that would be. When I ask questions, they act like they are annoyed with me.

One doctor even told me it was better not to spend any more Medicare dollars on her because someone else would need it!

In addition to seeking a new doctor, which I am doing, (preferabley one with a heart), I'd like to hear from anyone especially over 70 who has or has known someone treated for stroke/circulation problems successfully and what was done, be it diet, vitamins, prayer or whatever.

Any help at all is needed and greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

Maureen

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-09-2006, 10:07 AM   #2
(female)

trdawn HB User
Re: Stroke treatment for the elderly?

Maureen,
My dad had a massive stroke in Feb '06, he is 77. Everyone will tell you that being older is a strike against you in recovery, but that shouldn't prevent them from still trying. I took my dad from the hospital to a skilled nursing facility where they did therapy everyday--he progressed quite a bit. From being hoyer lifted to now using a standing transfer pole to get into his wheelchair, he can feed himself and eats everything. He cannot speak anything but garbled words. I have had him home w/me since July with home health care doing therapy twice a week---not really enough, but it's all you can get. You will have to be pretty persistent to get good therapy...cause everyone tends to write off older folks...sadly. Please let me know if I can give you any further help--good luck & God bless.
trdawn

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-10-2006, 04:56 PM   #3