It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Stroke Message Board
Post New Thread   Reply Reply
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-28-2012, 02:48 AM   #1
(female)

stevensone77 HB User
Post Stroke Options for a parent

I am a stroke newbie. My father had a stroke on 12/12/12. He is currently in Rehab and has left side weakness and some memory loss and emotional episodes (extreme sadness, rage, aggression). He has made tremendous progress in rehab. He has gone from total paralysis to limited use of left hand, using a wheelchair independently (with right leg) and walking with a walker and gait belt. I am so impressed with his increase in ability in such a short time. The rehab facility has set a tentative release date for 1/11/13 with a recommendation of continued in-home PT, OT, and Speech.
I am in need of advice, though I know no one can make a decision for me.
My mom and dad live in Georgia. I live in Texas. While my parents are young (65), my mother has knee problems and has difficulty with her own mobility. My dad now has the stroke related disabilities. I am struggling on what to do when my dad is released from rehab. He wants to come back to his home, which is not easily wheelchair accessible (though I am having a ramp built this weekend and have been moving furniture, cleaning out areas, putting bars in restroom, etc) and live independently with my mother as his caregiver. I do not think that she is strong enough for this or emotionally capable. The therapists agreed with me that they are concerned that she will not be able to handle him for the first few months. They have said it would be best for me to take my parents back to Texas with me for a few months while he continues in-home therapy. This is what I would like to do, but my father is very upset by the idea.