It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Teen Health Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-15-2003, 10:52 AM   #1

whimsygurl HB User
Exclamation meeting my email buddy

ok well, I've been talking to this guy over the internet for a few months now, and although he's 'a lot' older than me, we really like each other and I wouldn't be lying to say that we're in love. He wants me to visit him in about 2 months, I'm 19 and the only problem is I don't know how to tell my mother as to what I want to do. She's really old fashioned but she says I can do whatever I like ( although I know this would make her hit the roof ). I'm dying to meet this guy and I'm so scared to tell her I want to. Thing is, she thinks all guys on the internet are pedophile serial rapists/killers who leave girls like me in ditches. *sigh* What do I do? How can I tell her that I want to visit him without her deciding to disown her own daughter???? HELP!

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-15-2003, 12:19 PM   #2
(female)

ILuvPurple HB User
Whimsygurl, please think this out first.A person over the internet can pretend to be anyone they want!I`m not saying this guy`s not legit, but just be careful. If you decide to meet him take a friend or family member with you,and be in a public place at all times. By the way your mom`s thinking is not a bit old fashioned(at least not about this issue).just my opinion.Good luck.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-15-2003, 12:49 PM   #3
Inactive

kama2080 HB User
Purple is right about this one..it's perfectly okay for you to want to meet him, but you need to be smart about it.
Here are two options:

1) Take a friend/family member with you when you meet him the first time.

2) Meet him in a very public place, take a cell phone, and let a loved one know where you are meeting him.