It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-08-2003, 01:24 PM   #1

burdhome HB User
Question tyroid problems?

hi
this is my first time posting on this site and I hope it works for some information. I have been having a hard time getting help from my doctor, but have switched and hoping for better results. last january I requested thyroid tests done because was showing many symtoms and have a family history. I have lost half my hair, gained 20 pounds in last year, have periods around every ten days.major fatigue. no energy what so ever, I have been telling my old doctor about these symtoms for the last several years with no results. I finally went and complained after I went elsewhere and payed for the tests at a lab myself. my results were TSH 6.2 range .5 to 5.5,F4 total RIA 7.0 range 4.6 to 12.0 and T3 uptake 28.7 range 25-37 , also FT4I (T7) 2.0 range 1.2-4.7. ok those are the results, now i went to a doctor last night and he said i appeared to maybe be subclinical thyroiditis but wanted more tests to see if it was hashimotos. I asked him to also do the antibody test and I was wondering what the name of that test is. also I informed him of the new ranges for tsh. at first he said I was just slightly above until I told him I have found that there are now new ranges. does my tsh seem just slightly elevated? does anyone know what is a good medication to request for these levels? I Have been trying for years to get the doctors to listen and am now just glad the tests are starting to show the problem. I have had tests in the past that the doctors said were normal but i have no idea what the results were. any info would be greatly appreciated. thanks so much

------------------
Bobbie Lee

[This message has been edited by burdhome (edited 08-08-2003).]

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-08-2003, 01:32 PM   #2
Senior Veteran