It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-22-2003, 09:40 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

LuvMyLilDoggie HB UserLuvMyLilDoggie HB UserLuvMyLilDoggie HB UserLuvMyLilDoggie HB User
Question new to this

I'm new to this. I was diagnosed as hypothyroid in an emergency room about 5 weeks ago. I went there because I was having pain in the muscle between my c-spine and right shoulder. Along with the pain was numbness from that muscle through the shoulder and halfway down toward my elbow. Lately, I have been experiencing numbness in my thumb and severe tingling in the back of my left thigh all the way down to the tips of my toes. My TSH was 8.6 when tested 5 weeks ago. Doc said it was "just a little" high. In the past 8 months, I have been through a lot. Fatigue and depression (am seeing a slight improvement of these symptoms since starting Synthroid 0.05 5 weeks ago). I also have had the skipped heartbeats and palpitations (not in the past couple of weeks). Had EKG and holter monitor tests done before starting Synthroid.. Both turned out OK. I have the hair loss too. No doctor has touched my neck to feel my thyroid. My doctor thinks I may have sleep apnea because I'm still fatigued. He blows off the fact that I'm loosing my hair. He has done no neurological tests on me despite the fact that another doctor found cubital tunnel syndrome (ulnar nerve entrapment-the carpal tunnel syndrome of the elbow) in my right arm. I also have numbness in my left hand when I wake up in the morning. The point of this long message is-I'm sick and tired of being sick and tired. I want a normal life back. Is there anyone out there who can help me? I think I need someone to tell me there really is a light at the end of the tunnel. Thanks.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-22-2003, 09:57 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)