It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-20-2003, 06:52 AM   #1

Sonyary HB User
Wink Armour or Cytomel,or both?

Hey guys....you all have helped me sooo much,have always answered my questions with out me having to ask.My thyroid was removed 12 yrs ago(Hashis).I have been on synthroid...and just accepted the problems.Thats where you all have helped....now I want a Dr. to listen,I have a new Dr. and a appt w/him this Friday.I want completely off synthroid,and on armour...my question is should I (can I) take just armour or armour and cytomel together.

Old 08-20-2003, 06:57 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

Meep HB UserMeep HB UserMeep HB User
Armour has more T3 in it than what many people need, so adding Cytome to it is usually not a good thing.

See if you can try the Armour for a while and see if that helps you

I am not a doctor, nor have I ever played one on TV...

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-20-2003, 08:28 AM   #3
KarenDesmondC

My thyroid does not function at all and I have been on Armour for years. Synthroid just never worked for me. My Dr once insisted I try it, and I didnot like it at all. I recently ran into problems, and became quite hypothyroid while talking the Armour, 3 grns daily. My Dr added cytomel and I started feeling better right away. This was just my experience. I really prefer Armour, but every Dr I have had (2)has preferred synthroid. However, neither one took thyroid supplement. So I am taking 3 grns of Armour and 2 Cytomel 5MCG each AM.
Good luck with your appointment,
Karen

Old 08-21-2003, 03:25 AM   #4

daldre1269 HB User
Hi... I started on armour all by itself and when I continued to feel symptomatic we added cytomel. So now I take both armour and cytomel together.

However, you probably will not know if you need cytomel until you've been on a therapeutic dose of armour for awhile....