It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2003, 05:50 PM   #1

fish HB User
Post Synthroid in A.M.?

I'm going to start synthroid .075 (I think that's the dosage) tomorrow. The literature says not to have calcium products for 4 hours. The pharmacist said 1 hour. When in the world do you take it, and then have cereal and milk? Fish

Old 09-13-2003, 07:08 PM   #2

fish HB User
I also need to know if it's better to take the medicine in the morning or at night. It seems to fit into a night schedule better food wise, but I've always heard of people taking this medicine in the morning. Thanks for all your help! Fish

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 09-13-2003, 09:23 PM   #3

fish HB User
Hey, I'm new to this medicine. I'm sure lots of you take synthroid. I need some advice! Fish

Old 09-13-2003, 09:32 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

midwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB User
I asked the same question about milk and cereal a few months ago. Here's the link to that discussion: [url="http://www.healthboards.com/ubb/Forum118/HTML/002915.html"]http://www.healthboards.com/ubb/Forum118/HTML/002915.html[/url]

Realistically... You still shouldn't take the med within 4 hours of a calcium supplement or antacid; but my doctor said that it would not hurt to eat cereal with a little milk after one hour. The med should have entered the small intestine by that time, and would not be bound up by the milk's calcium once it's there. (Of course, he's been wrong about other things. You could double check with a pharmacist... Their knowledge is primo!)