It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-13-2003, 09:44 PM   #1
Senior Veteran

AngelaA HB User
Post Late night ponderings about fluoride

I'd like someone else to see if this sounds like a possibility. I was just thinking about recent tidbits I've heard saying that fluoride causes hypo-T. Well I was doing great on Armour for months, working up to 2 grains, feeling great then it was like hitting running into a brick wall. The hypo symptoms came back. I keep thinking what happened?! It occured to me tonight that about the same time I started using fluoride toothpaste again was about the same time the symptoms started back. I had been using non-fluoride toothpaste for 4 years because a friend had convinced me the stuff was poison because it causes arthritis. Then I got samples of this new toothpaste. I liked the gel, but the health food store had only the paste kind which didn't taste as good. So I mail ordered the gel which turned out to be fluoride whereas the paste did not contain it. Could the fluoride possibly be the culprit? I mean I don't know how much one can absorb from brushing their teeth. The local water supply is one of the few places left that does not have the fluoride added. Is this a possibility or am I having delusions and should just go on to bed?

Old 09-13-2003, 10:02 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(male)

Meep HB UserMeep HB UserMeep HB User
Flouride used to be used as a hyperthyroid treatment, many years ago. I read somewhere that the amount of flouride that many of us get in our tap water can exceed the amount that was prescribed to treat some hyper cases in some instances. Add to this, the flouride in your toothpaste, and you have a recipe for hypothyroidism.

Ever wonder why some 20 million Americans are hypo? This could certainly explain it.