It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-22-2004, 05:02 AM   #1

kiminnc HB User
Ear and Jaw Pain, anyone else?

Hi! A couple of weeks ago I started having pain when I touched my scalp. It went away but now it is back. I am also have stabbing pains in my ear that come an go along with upper an lower jaw pain, but only on the left side. I am a teacher and asked my school nurse to check my left ear. She said it was clear. When I told her about my other symptoms, she suggested it could possibly be trigeminal neurolagia(sp). I looked it up and it matches all of my symptoms. I was just wondering if anyone has ever heard of this, could it be connected to thyroid/hashis (which I have), or is anybody experiencing the same symptoms? On one site it said it could result from Sjorgenson's(sp) Disease, which I know is another autoimmune disease. It just makes me wonder if it is not all connected to my Hashis. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks, Kim

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-22-2004, 01:15 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

NodiGoiterGirl HB User
Re: Ear and Jaw Pain, anyone else?

Do you still have your wisdom teeth?
I had the pain in my ear and jaw, so had my teeth out. Haven't had the pain since the surgery.
I also have Hashi's, so if the pain comes back, I guess I can blame it on that.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-22-2004, 01:49 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

midwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB User

There is a type of thyroiditis in which the pain can mimic TMJ (temporomandibular joint) pain. This would cause pain in the jaw and ear. I found this information on the following webpage ~ [url]http://cpmcnet.columbia.edu/dept/thyroid/thyroiditis.html[/url]