It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-25-2004, 02:23 PM   #1
Senior Veteran

reni HB User
Need help interpreting results

I'd like some help interpreting my bloodwork.

As a quick background, I've been complaining about hypothyroidism symptoms for the last 5 years or so, but I am always dismissed, as my labs come back normal. I have a strong family history of hypo (mother, sister, maternal grandmother), a thyroid nodule (biopsied; benign), cold intolerance, constipation, lethargy, weight gain and failure to lose despite herculean efforts at diet and exercise.

These are my results:

TSH 0.64 (0.35-4.94)
Free T3 2.9 (1.73-3.7)
Free T4 0.81 (0.70-1.48)
Thyroid Peroxidase (TPO) AB <2 (<2)
Anti-thyroglobulin antibody <2 (<2)

I just got these results in the mail today, and I'm pretty disappointed. I really thought this would be the year something would show up, since my symptoms are so much worse. But the new doctor I saw wrote "thyroid levels look excellent!"... so basically I have been dismissed again.

My question is, DO my levels look excellent? I'm not trying to create a problem where none exists, but I don't have any other explanation for my symptoms.

Thanks!

Old 08-27-2004, 10:46 AM   #2
Senior Veteran

reni HB User
Re: Need help interpreting results

Anyone?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-27-2004, 11:13 AM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

midwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB User

Sorry to miss your question, reni.
At least you've had all the right tests done. That's rare. Did your doctor do that for you, or did you have to request them?