It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2004, 10:53 AM   #1

wanttobehealthy HB User
Magnesium?

Why dose the Doctor test Magnesium with Thyroid problems?

Thanks!!

Last edited by wanttobehealthy; 08-27-2004 at 10:54 AM.

Old 08-27-2004, 02:49 PM   #2

greta2 HB User
Re: Magnesium?

I'd like to know the answer to this also. And....can I safely take a magnesium supplement with thyroid medicine (Levoxyl)?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-27-2004, 03:02 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

Gopherhead HB User

I'm no expert but perhaps they are checking for a deficiency? Magnesium is a pretty crucial mineral to good health, and it's something we all tend to be deficient in to some extent. I know from personal experience that other minerals, chiefly calcium, doesn't work well w/o magnesium present in the body at the right levels.

I just did a little googling myself to see what's up with this - turns out that a Magnesium deficiency is indeed evidence of a few diseases, thyroid diseas being one of them (low, high and auto-immune); apparently low magnesium reduces T4 levels. Interesting since my T4 is in the basement and I have been taking cal/mag for years.

From what I've read and experienced most people who are Hypo suffer from body aches and pains and taking calcium and magnesium helps with this - I have been taking the two for years to help relieve the pain associated with intense weight training. I suspect my hypo symptoms would be a lot worse if I hadn't.

Magnesium also has a laxative effect and severe constipation is often a hypo symptom.