It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-02-2004, 04:51 PM   #1
(female)

LovesTeaching HB User
Fine Needle Aspiration - Has anyone had this done?

Hi. I'm new to the thyroid board. I'm 38 and have hypothyroidism. I've been on Synthroid for about 15 years.

I received a phone call from my endocrinologist's office today. The nurse told me that my doctor wants to do a fine needle aspiration of one of my thyroid nodules. I have many nodules (and have had them for years), but I guess they were small enough to not be worrisome. My latest thyroid sonogram showed that one of them grew to the point where I need to have it biopsied. The nurse explained that my doctor will use a very long needle and stick it in my neck 3 times to aspirate the nodule for the biopsy. As you can imagine, I'm none too pleased with the thought of this procedure. Of course, the procedure is nothing compared to the possibility that I could have thyroid cancer. If the biopsy is positive, I will need to have thyroid surgery.

I'm trying not to let this throw me into a tailspin of depression. I've been doing OK on the Celexa that I've been taking for my depression, but after hearing this news, I feel like crawling into bed and staying there...indefinitely.

Can anyone shed some light on this procedure I will have?

Thanks in advance.

Old 09-02-2004, 05:35 PM   #2

bubblebug64 HB User
Re: Fine Needle Aspiration - Has anyone had this done?

Hey,