It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-07-2004, 07:25 PM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

ticker HB Userticker HB Userticker HB Userticker HB Userticker HB User
Do you have shortness of breath?

Everyone, thank you for sharing your symptoms and insights. It is a great help to me because I am new to hypothyroidism.

Can shortness of breath be a low thyroid symptom? I have had this for some time. When I started on low dose Synthroid about six weeks ago, it got better. Not completely better but improved. Now it is bad again. Do you think it is thyroid related?

Old 11-07-2004, 08:15 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

midwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB User
Re: Do you have shortness of breath?

Yes, it can be related, and probably is in your case, due to the fact it got better after starting treatment. It's likely worse again because you're due for a needed dose increase. Symptoms come and go, get better and worse, during the time it takes to reach your optimal dose.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 11-08-2004, 04:59 AM   #3

LynnHan HB User

YES! I definitely can be thyroid related! Prior to being diagnosed myself, for a few years I noticed, or, my husband noticed, that I got out of breath quite easily. Like it was happening after ONLY going up 4 steps (back door) I was extremely HEAVY at the time...but this was a "new" symptom (at that time) for me.