It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 01-24-2005, 03:23 PM   #1

MydeadSea HB User
how do they test your thyroid?

well Im brand new to this part of the health board n i have a question. I promised my b/f I'd get my thyroid checked cus we both think I have a problem but Im PETRIFIED of doctors, so ,..could someone please tell me EXACTLY how they test your thyroid?...I mean, would I have to remove any clothing or anything? Im really scared but i really need to get it checked so any information would be appreciated.

Also, if they find a problem w/ it, how is it fixed, and will it help me to lose any weight?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-24-2005, 03:36 PM   #2
(female)

Mellybean HB User
Re: how do they test your thyroid?

Testing your thyroid is through blood tests, the most common tests are the TSH which test the amount of thyroid stimulating hormone in your blood, the free T3 and the free T4 test. The only peice of clothing that would have to be removed is a jacket, and your sleeve rolled up. They also might feel your neck to tell if your glands and thyroid are swollen, too small, or whether there are any nodules on it. I was just diagnosed less than a week ago and i went for another blood test today, it really isnt that bad. The way they treat a thyroid problem really depends on the problem you have, whether it is overactive or underactive. I dont really know much about a hyperthyroidism, or an over active thyroid. I am sure someone more experienced with thyroid problems can explain that to you. What makes you and your boyfriend think that you might have a thyroid problem?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 01-24-2005, 03:59 PM   #3

MydeadSea HB User