It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2005, 06:09 PM   #1
(female)

raleigh86 HB User
Ticker...

Your Lyme advice is invaluable. Are you self taught from your own experiences? When I started the boards last fall, I asked where you were from after you referred me to Dr. J's clinic in Huntersville. Do you see a lyme doctor in TN?

I have had symptoms for almost a year. I went through all the same old routine as everyone else. I went over my calendar from last year and found I had 32 doctor visits, not counting derm. dentist and mammogram. My primary doctor was trying to rule things out.

During my physical the end of Aug. after having the same doctor check me over many times the previous months, she feels enlarged thyroid. I had a scan showing multiple nodules. My blood work and biopsy were neg. The endo said because of this, I do not have thyroid disease, nor should I have thyroid symptoms, only nodules. You know how much thyroid and lyme symptoms over lap. I was convinced my symptoms were thyroid related till the endo told me otherwise. I called my primary doctor that same day, and told her I needed a new blood work up. The one I had in April, she did not test for lyme because she felt the tests not accurate. I will give her credit to even suspect lyme, not that it helped me without the test. So, in Sept. I had more blood tested. I found out the same day that my thyroid biopsy was negative and I tested positive for lyme. I was surprised how the symptoms were almost identical.