It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-10-2005, 08:58 AM   #1
(female)

Abigail1967 HB User
Exclamation Newbie here--problems with Synthroid

I had a total thyroidectomy on 12/29/04 (multi-nodular w/ large goiter but no cancer) and have been on Synthroid since that time. I was started on 50mcg and within 3 weeks of beginning the Synthroid, began to have terrible headaches and vision problems. I also developed some symptoms of being HYPO and my endo. upped my dosage of Synthroid to 75mcg per day. I told him about the headaches and he said he didn't think it was the medication.

I began to increase the dosage to 75mcg 2 weeks ago and the headaches became unbearable! I couldn't even sleep lying down. It feels like my head is filling with fluid or blood and that it might explode.

Three days ago I took myself off of the Synthroid and by the end of the second day the headache was completely gone and the brain fog was lifted. I went to see my GP yesterday and told him everything. He wants me to try cutting the 75mcg tablet in half, taking half in the a.m. and half in the p.m.

I took half this morning and the pressure and pain in my head have already returned. It feels like every vessel in my head has blown up like a balloon and that I might have a stroke. Exercise, activity and the like make things much worse.

Also, the synthroid causes me to have stomach pains and to retain fluid around my midsection, always leaving me feel bloated.

I realize that I cannot live without thyroid replacement and that death is final. But I am NOT willing to live like this.

Can anyone help?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-10-2005, 09:04 AM   #2
Inactive
(male)

Changedusername HB User
Re: Newbie here--problems with Synthroid