It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-21-2005, 12:22 PM   #1

natanak HB User
Unhappy TSH of 3.5 and doctors wants to put me on medication, should I?

I am new to this. I just received a call this morning from my doctor saying I should go on thyroid medication because my TSH 3rd Gen test came back at 3.5 (Range is .400-5.500). I was just going for a routine physical and was kinda blindsided by this since I thought I was in pretty good health. Last year I got physical my results for TSH was 2.287. Does this mean I'm hypo or hyper? It sounds like from what I've read on this site thus far I am hypo...which means weight gain, hair loss, tired.... Does this happend at levels that I have?

I am not going on the medication. I told my doctor I'd like a complete test before medicating myself. I have never been on meds before, although I do take BC pills. I am just concerned about weight gain and if the doctor is being too harsh with these results?

Any information or advice is appreciated. I do plan on getting more tests, just curious as to whether 3.5 is bad result or not?

Old 04-21-2005, 12:44 PM   #2
(female)

SangReal HB User
Re: TSH of 3.5 and doctors wants to put me on medication, should I?

With your TSH increasing, however slowly, not going on the meds is a terrible idea. Your doctor is right, and the lab is wrong. New guidelines state that a normal TSH range is between .3 and 3, not 5.5. Quest Diagnostics (or whoever you're using) does not really know much about diagnosis, they just know how to conduct the tests. It is your physician's job to interpret them, and he is doing a pretty good job.

Trust me. Go on the meds. You might gain a tiny bit of weight going on them, but that's nothing to the amount of weight you'll gain without them. Now is the time to start taking them before any damage is done.