It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-08-2006, 08:18 PM   #1
(female)

d.hall HB User
wheat intolerance

Im new to this and dont what to teach my grandmother how to suck eggs but has anyone ever connected their symtoms to wheat and gluten intolerance as well as being hypo as i notice lots of the symtoms are similiar and many are not getting relief despite medication.
Apologies if this has been covered before,its just that i have extremely high thyroid antibodies a TSH of 3.1 and am awaiting free t3s and 4s but have also been told im wheat intolerant.Which symtoms belong to which illness/intolerance????????
thanks, donna

Old 05-09-2006, 08:01 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

ASDGRMama HB User
Re: wheat intolerance

Hello! What exactly do you mean by "wheat intolerance" ? I'm asking because that means different things to different people. Some people call celiac disease "a wheat intolerance" or "gluten intolerance" which it's not. An intolerance/insensitivity is a difficulty in digesting the offending foods. There is no immune response. Food intolerances and sensitivities are extremely common; it is estimated that 1 in 7 people in the USA have a wheat intolerance.

Some symptoms of a wheat sensitivity/intolerance are (they can appear 2-3 days after eating the offending food):

stomach bloating
cramping
diarrhea
flatulence
constipation
headache
memory loss
behavioural difficulties
depression
poor resistance to infection
mouth ulcers
arthritis
Skin rashes
eczema
psoriasis
itching flaky skin
food cravings
tiredness
chronic fatigue
unwell feeling

Celiac is an autoimmune disease in response to consumption of all gluten-containing foods (not just wheat).

There was a recent discussion on celiac disease...here it is:

[URL=http://]http://www.healthboards.com/boards/showthread.php?t=386179[/URL]