It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-18-2006, 10:55 AM   #1
Senior Veteran
(female)

Delia79 HB User
What do these tests tell you???? If anything...

Just a quick question. I am new to this. My cardiologist tested T3 uptake and T4 total? What do these mean and what do they tell you? I don't have any results yet, but was just curious what they are actually checking for. Thanks!

Old 05-18-2006, 11:20 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

illmakeit HB User
Re: What do these tests tell you???? If anything...

Hi Delia,
The T4 Total tells you how much TOTAL T4 (Thyroxine) is in your blood - bound and unbound. Some of the T4 is bound and cannot be used in the same way the unbound can - that is why WE prefer the Free T4 test.

T3 Uptake -This is a test that confuses me. And I guess it does others. It is something about the proteins that carry thyroid around in your blood stream. I think it is supposed to tell you the Free T4 somehow, but someone else, I am sure, can explain it better.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 05-18-2006, 12:16 PM   #3
Senior Veteran
(female)

midwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB User

T3 uptake has nothing at all to do with the patient's own T3. It's an antiquated test used in conjunction with total T4 to make a mathematical calculation that arrives at an estimate of free T4. Stupid, huh? Don't have an earthly clue why MDs don't just order the free T4 test itself.
A direct measure is always better than an estimate. (Who on earth would sign a real estate contract, for example, based on an estimate of what the property is worth rather than an actual price?!)

Old 05-18-2006, 01:15 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

illmakeit HB User

It's probably cheaper and easier to do????