It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-30-2006, 06:45 PM   #1
(female)

cpht32 HB User
Hypothyroid and other meds

I am new in this thread. I normally post in the depression. Anyway, I had TSH done last month and it came back 9.7. The family doctor has put me on 25mcg of levothyroxine. She did not do a T3 or T4 test. My Iorn level was also abnormal. I have been taking Lithium for about 2 months now for my depression. Does anyone know if the Lithium could be hurting my thyroid. I am very tired all of the time. I go to see an Endo doc the 15th of August. Any advice on what to ask would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you

Old 07-30-2006, 09:52 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

midwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB User
Re: Hypothyroid and other meds

Hi there...
Lithium is a known thyroid suppressor. You must have a conscientious MD to have caught your low thyroid function so early in your lithium treatment. That's good.

I don't have any experience with lithium. I would ask the endo if he/she has much experience in managing the two conditions - hypothyroidism and clinical depression - together. That would be important to me. There's no guarantee how honest the answer will be, but clearly, treating clinical depression along with low thyroid would be more complicated than treating one or the other separately.