It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-03-2006, 08:39 PM   #1
(female)

myshannon HB User
Child (7 yrs old) with hyperthyroid

I am new to anytype of chat room, so I hope I am doing this right. I am hoping someone, anyone has heard of hyperthyroid in a child. My daughter is 7 years old and we were just told that she is hyperthyroid. Appx. 1 year ago she was hypothyroid - that was the first we learned of any thyroid issues with her. 6 months ago her levels were about the same. 3 weeks ago she went to hyperthyroid when we had her routine blood work done. Her T3 was 556. We did repeat the bloodwork- again high. Doctor told us to have a radioactive iodine scan done. We did scan at the hospital yesterday and today. She had an absorption rate of 86.1 at 6 hours and 101% at 24 hours. The doctor started her on meds.

Has anyone ever heard of a child (not a teenager-a child 7 to 8 years old) ever having hyperthyroid. The doctor a Pediatric Endo. never had a child so young with this. The nucular dept. at the hospital never had a child as young and also told me only about 1 in 25 have that high of an absorption number. The pharmacy never filled an RX for a child so young with the thyroid med.

I am looking into a doctor in Manhattan, NY to see if they may have had a child so young.

Has anyone heard, known, anything to do with a young child and this happening to them. Any and all information is appreciated.

I am so concerned for my daughter. I want to make sure I am doing the right thing for her. She is a tiny little girl.

I am feeling angry, dull, confused, and so much more.

Let me know if you ever heard of a child so young.
Is it common to go from hypo to hyper.?

Thanks

Last edited by myshannon; 10-03-2006 at 08:40 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 10-03-2006, 09:05 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)