It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-01-2006, 07:59 PM   #1
(female)

bhgymteach HB User
Scheduled Right Thyroidectomy-please post success stories for me

Ugh!
I am not happy about this. I went back to the ENT on Friday after an u/s the week before. He immediately told me that it wasn't good news. My cyst is 5cm, by 3cm, by 4cm. He said the size is his concern and he is pretty sure that it isn't cancer since FNB came back negative already. He just wants it out to be sure. Otherwise it is back every 6 months for the rest of my life and always "wondering" if it could be cancer.

I am scheduled for Tuesday, Dec. 18th. I am doing it the week before Christmas because I am a teacher and hopefully the extra holiday vacation will help me to rest and relax enough to get back to school sometime after the first of the year.

I am scared to death of course, but he is telling me that taking the right lobe shouldn't be too much of an issue and he really thinks I won't need meds. afterwards. I should make him promise I guess. Just kidding. I know there are always issues and if they can happen to me they usually do.

I would love to hear success stories from those of you with just one lobe removed.

Thanks!!
Barb

Old 11-01-2006, 11:42 PM   #2
(female)

California Ann HB User
Thumbs up Re: Scheduled Right Thyroidectomy-please post success stories for me

bhgymteach,

I am new to thyroid problems and this board. Most of what I know I learned here.

I had been being followed for a left side multi nodular goiter and then I came down with thyroiditis on the same side. I had fine needle biopsies on both sides that were inconclusive. My PCP and my endo desided it needed to come out. Well the surgeon said only the left (not the side I was having trouble with) needed to come out.