It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 12-05-2007, 09:40 PM   #1
(female)

Melodyannie HB User
Having Thyroidectomy 12/13/07 and terrified of general anasthesia!!

Hi all, I'm a post newbie. This site has been very helpful, but I'm still very scared to have this surgery. This will be my first surgery ever. I have a nodule on my left thyroid and its about 1.5 cm. My biopsies both came back benign but the nodule is growing so my doctor wants to remove it before it gets too big. I am so scared to go under anaesthesia! There is a movie that just came out last Friday called "AWAKE" with Jessica Alba and Hayden Christiansen. It's about a man who under goes general anaesthesia for heart surgery and he ends up being awake during his surgery and the doctors don't realize it. This terrifying experience is called "anaesthesia awareness". I am SO scared this will happen to me. Why did this movie have to come out right before I was to have surgery?! I can't sleep at night just thinking about this. Has anyone else heard about this experience? I know that when I get on that O.R. table and they put in my i.v. i am going to freak. Can someone please give me some reasurrance or some personal experience of their thyroid surgery? Has anyone ever worried about this?

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 12-05-2007, 09:56 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

mkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB User
Re: Having Thyroidectomy 12/13/07 and terrified of general anasthesia!!