It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-27-2008, 10:38 PM   #1
(female)

Lauren123 HB User
Question on Levothyroxine Generic?? or Synthroid Brand Name

My doctor perscribed Synthroid to me and Walgreens filled it with the generic called levothyroxine. I've been doing some research and it sounds like I probably shouldn't have had them fill it with the generic because the generics aren't always consistent with the correct levels??
Is anyone else in this same situation, or currently taking the generic?
Please share details if you can. I'm new to all of this.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-28-2008, 07:48 AM   #2
(female)

pinkprincess3 HB User
Re: Question on Levothyroxine Generic?? or Synthroid Brand Name

Hello...I am hypothyroid and taking Levoxyl and doing good on it.I have taken Synthroid and also done good on it.Once my prescription was given to me for levothyroxine and I did not take it as I did not know if its the same as Levoxyl and Synthroid.Wishing you all the best and hope you are feeling better soon....

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 03-28-2008, 05:44 PM   #3
(female)

jrose1358 HB User

I currently take synthroid. I was give levothyroxine once by Walgreens and tried it. It didn't work for me at all and I make sure I specify synthroid. I think we all react differently to the different meds and you just have to try it to see if it works for you. You may have no problem with it at all and it IS cheaper! Regards - jrose

Old 03-28-2008, 11:43 PM   #4
Senior Veteran
(female)

Suey77 HB User

I have taken both Levothyroxine & brand Levoxyl. I really prefer the brand Levoxyl. Personally I won't take the generic again. But that is me & you may not have any probs with it,,,

Old 03-29-2008, 09:39 AM   #5
(female)

Raynie HB User