It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-20-2008, 08:01 AM   #1
(female)

besstmom3 HB User
Hypothyroid/results

O.K., this is my first post. I'm a little confused, and shouldn't be as I am in the medical field, and don't quite understand this whole thyroid thing myself. I have been doctoring with not feeling well for at least 2 years. I finally found a great doctor, who ordered the correct labs, thankfully. Anyway, any ideas on the results??? I'm just looking for verification, I think, in my head.
My cholesterol, triglycerides, and LDL were all high.
My TSH was 0.78 (0.34-5.60), my free T4 was .69, (normal range .8-2.4) and my free T3 was 3.21, (with normal being 2.5-3.9)
My ferritin level, which has never been checked, was 5.5 (7.0-238.0)
Vitamin D was low at 31.5 (32.-100.0), as was DHEA at 73 (143-1277). I also had thyroid antibodies, 26, but my thyroid ultrasound is o.k., thankfully.
My question is this-----I always thought your TSH had to be high, with your T3, T4 being low, to be hypothyroid. Any input.????????:

Last edited by besstmom3; 04-20-2008 at 04:21 PM. Reason: ranges for T4, T3, TSH

Old 04-20-2008, 08:53 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

midwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB Usermidwest1 HB User
Re: Hypothyroid/results

Primary hypoT generally, but not always, presents with high TSH and low thyroid hormones (TH). When the hypoT is caused by auto-antibodies, TH can get too low for the body's needs before TSH rises out of range. In the case of low or low-normal TH, if TSH is above 2, TH supplementation can be started and symptoms caused by low thyroid will improve. Autoimmunity is the most frequent cause of hypoT in industrialized nations.