It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-10-2008, 04:26 PM   #1
(female)

wally777 HB User
How would you know if you are having adrenal problems as primary?

On an earlier post (I am a newbie), I spoke of the difficulty I am having getting my meds right. I am "technically" hypo now (after RAI), but I am still very shaky and hands and fingers tingle often and I am really wiped out. Total t-4 within "normal" limits, TSH 1.7 and total t-3 was high. I will try to get the Dr. to order Free t-3 and t-4, but in the interim, I am trying different combinations of synthroid and armour and am wiped out. The Dr. also is having me take Toprol for the shakiness, but I am concerned that the Adrenals may be more involved. She has not mentioned adrenals, at all.

I did do the saliva test that an accupunturist I am seeing recommended and the results showed within normal limits, except for late afternoon, when the level was a little low.

This has been such a roller coaster and I want to make sure I am at least looking in the right direction or any other direction.

Thanks

Old 07-10-2008, 06:37 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

mkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB Usermkgbrook HB User
Re: How would you know if you are having adrenal problems as primary?

That is simple if you wade through the technical goop.

Primary adrenal insufficiency is when the adrenal glands are affected. Secondary is where the pituitary is to blame.