It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-23-2008, 04:32 AM   #1
(female)

Knox99 HB User
Thyroid Surgery Tuesday...any advice?...Please Help..

Hi,
I'm new at this and was hoping you guys could help calm my anxiety. I have thyroid surgery coming up on Tues. I've tried desperately to educate myself and prepare myself for this. I still have a few unanswered questions....I'm going in to have a "suspicious" cold solid nodule removed (right lobectomy) if it's cancer (they'll biopsy it while I'm in surgery) they'll do a TT. I currently have no other Thyroid problems (I'm neither Hypo or Hyper) Here a a couple questions....1. Am I for sure going to gain weight? 2. Am I going to go into depression? 3. Am I going to be exhausted forever? I think I can handle if it's cancer since it's so curable. I'm deathly afraid of depression and weight gain won't help either! Depression is a disease in my family (severely) and I've so far at 38 I've avoided it. 4. Has anyone been successful at LOSING weight after this type of surgery? 5. When will I feel back to normal? 6. Is the surgery really bad? I have more questions but I don't want to over stay my welcome right now. Please help.....

Last edited by Knox99; 08-23-2008 at 04:41 AM.

Old 08-23-2008, 05:07 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

famnd HB User
Re: Thyroid Surgery Tuesday...any advice?...Please Help..

My daughter had a TT in Jan for Thyroid cancer of one nodule. The other lobe turned out to be negative. She had two surgeries as they went back in & removed the 2nd lobe after the nodule was confirmed to be cancer. Her nodule was 1.5 cm. We have no history of thyroid cancer in the family although we have thyroid issues.