It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-26-2008, 07:42 AM   #1
(female)

alison83 HB User
Smile 20 years Hypothyroid, never seen an Endocrinologist

Hi all,

I am new to this message board, and as you will see from the title, I have been hypothyroid for almost 20 years, being diagnosed just after my son was born. Since then I have worked full time almost the whole time (except for several months following a car accident).

In addition I have coeliac disease, another autoimmune disease, and have to follow a gluten free diet.

I take 150mg of thyroxine per day, as well as taking anti-histamines for my itchy, dry skin, and calcium tablets to help prevent the onset of osteoporosis (a side effect of my coeliac disease).

In the past 20 years, my GP has never sent me to see an Endocrinologist, although I do have regular 12 monthly blood tests (if I remember to see him - he never sends for me but usually picks up my overdue test when I next visit).

I work full time, run a house and have a family (husband, 2 teenage kids), and seem constantly tired, run down - exhausted! However, I don't sleep well, waking 4 or 5 times a night.

I have very painful muscle problems all down my left side, particularly in my thigh and calf muscles. I am currently seeing a physiotherapist for these problems, which are particularly painful when sitting at my desk at work.

My question is this - does anyone out there think I should request an Endocrinologist appointment via my GP? Do you think it would do me any good? From everything I've read on the net, I know having 2 autoimmune diseases means I may be susceptible to others, and I am wondering whether my muscular pains, lack of sleep and tiredness are something else, rather than side effects of my hypothyroidism.