It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-20-2009, 02:57 AM   #1
(male)

Riebeek HB User
Thyroid, parasites and a cup of coffee !

Hi, I'm a newbie and just would like to ask a question or two to anyone in the know. Does caffeine interfere with the thyroid function? Also has anyone successfully treated their thyroid when parasites were interfering with it's function ? a Google search mentions the affect caffeine has on thyroid medication, but not a definite don't drink coffee which I have a love hate relationship with.

I recently had a health breakthrough when a alternative health care provider here in London gave me Barnes thyroid temperature test form to fill in and I completed a one month test and I clearly have hypothyroidism which according to his hair analysis tests also shows I have parasites which is affecting my thyroid function. After 5 weeks no joy with the wormwood, ionic silver and cramp bark medication I need some serious help.

Regards,

Riebeek

Last edited by Riebeek; 04-20-2009 at 03:01 AM. Reason: To highlight the title

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 04-22-2009, 07:10 AM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

Audrey-B HB UserAudrey-B HB UserAudrey-B HB UserAudrey-B HB UserAudrey-B HB User
Re: Thyroid, parasites and a cup of coffee !

Caffeine only affects medication if you are on meds for your T4. You need to wait one hour before drinking coffee in that case. It doesn't affect T3 meds though.

I've never heard of parasites affecting the thyroid. I have however been told by my doctor that if your digestive system is not working correctly, undigested protein can ferment and cause inflammation of the thyroid. Undigested food particles are supposedly responsible for a number of things ranging from allergies to arthritis.