It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-23-2009, 01:29 PM   #1
(female)

HeadOn HB User
When to blood test after Z-Pak, Steriods?

Hi. I've been on these boards before, but I'm new to this particular subject. I seem to have all the symptoms of a thyroid issue, and my ob/gyn sent me home with the paperwork to have bloodtests done when I had my last annual in October. We have no insurance, so she told me to have them done when I could.

For awhile, I've been catching every bug that my two kids bring home from school, and it takes me forever to get over it. I've been sick with one thing or another since Christmas. Lately, the kids got a head-conjestion/cough plus each of them threw up for three days. Luckly, I just got the congestion/cough. The pediatrician didn't give them antibiotics, just said it was a flu type thing, and they'd get over it in a week or so. I had the same thing, but as they got better, I stayed the same. The cough was pretty bad. Finally I went to the doctor myself, and he dxed Atypical Pneumonia.

Doctor gave me a Z-Pak, which I finished April 11th. I still had some trouble taking a deep breath and some inflammation, so he put me on a short course of steroids (methylprednisolone) for the next week. I started with the 6 pills on Monday, and tokk the decreasing dose down to the single pill on the last day, which was last Sunday, April 19th.