It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-24-2009, 05:47 PM   #1
(male)

jbo123 HB User
Hyperthyroid newbie needing help

Hello All,
I am new to this so bear with me. So nice to read the posts, thank you. 3 months ago I was diagnosed with 5 cm enlarged Thyroid. I was not really aware of it until they discovered it through a chest scan. It was tested and not found to be cancerous. No symptons then and Thyroid tests were normal.
Since then I have had much stress with a job loss and ongoing divorce and now I wake up after falling asleep all night with hyper speed like sensations and hot damp skin. Recent Thyroid tests show again normal levels.
They want to remove the Thyroid based on its size but I don't know if it is aggravated from the stress or just the stress which is really high now causing the symptons. I would hate to have it removed, be on Thyroid medication and still be a nervous wreck.
Any help, ideas or prayers are welcome.
Thank you.

Old 06-25-2009, 05:05 PM   #2
Senior Veteran
(female)

GravesGirl73 HB UserGravesGirl73 HB User
Re: Hyperthyroid newbie needing help

You probably need antibody testing to see if it's graves or hashimoto's or maybe both. Have your tpo's and tsi done, it'll show Graves,but maybe tsi isn't high enough to make hormones go high yet,keep getting tested every 4 weeks or so if you can. You need a Free T 4 and Free T 3 done along with tsh.
p.s stress is a BIG known trigger of Graves disease

Last edited by GravesGirl73; 06-25-2009 at 05:06 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 06-26-2009, 03:53 PM   #3
(male)

jbo123 HB User

Thanks so much for your post.

My test scores were as follows:
T4: 11.2
TSH w/FREE T4 RFX: 0.52
T3: 132

Anything alarming there? Dr. says they are close to normal.

I say why lose 15 pounds in a month and can stay awake all night adrenaline pumping?