It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board
Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-09-2009, 01:56 PM   #1
Inactive
(female)

starryGal09 HB UserstarryGal09 HB User
Treatment of Hashimoto's along with other symptoms

Hello everyone, I am new to the HB and am seeking some general information about Hashimotos and the other problems it may cause.

My 24 year old daughter had most of her thyroid removed in 06 and has been on synthroid since. Her bloodwork results for tsh and other counts, have been all over the road. More synthroid, less synthroid - for the last two years. Cannot stabilize.
Meanwhile she was being treated for depression by her PCP. I believe she still has the depression but with moving back after her divorce and being at a new job she just recently became insured medically again and was weaned off the meds.
Now my question is, does one endo/doctor treat all of the symptoms she seems to be dealing with? Symptoms of severe weight gain (of over 40 pounds in two years), severe depression/mood swings, extreme perspiration- feeling very warm/over heated, heavy periods where they are causing problems at work (she is on her feet), anemia and of course lack of energy/tired all the time.
I have her seeing a doctor who is getting her weight down with the use of phentermine. It is working so her depression seems to be lifting. Until today.
She called from work wanting to come home due to heavy menstrual bleeding. But she cannot. she needs the hours. She was crying while speaking to me on the phone. I am puzzled. Is this all from the Hashi?
What can I do? Should I have her make appts with ob/gyn for periods? Psychiatrist for depression/moods? Any others?
Are any of you experiencing several other symptoms and do your endos treat them?
Thank you so much.

Last edited by starryGal09; 08-09-2009 at 01:58 PM.

Sponsors Lightbulb

Old 08-09-2009, 03:18 PM   #2