It appears you have not yet Signed Up with our community. To Sign Up for free, please click here....

Thyroid Disorders Message Board

Help understanding lab results and info on Hashimoto's Thyroiditis

Post New Thread   Closed Thread
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-06-2010, 04:43 AM   #1
LaurieAnn70
(female)

LaurieAnn70 HB User
Newbie & needing help understanding lab results & info on Hashimoto's Thyroiditis

Good Morning,

I am new to this message board and looking for help with my lab test results and just any information I can get about hyper/hypo active thyroid and Hashi/Graves. I recently had some labwork done after experiencing symptoms of hypothyroid/Hyperthyroid for years. I've had tests done before - just a very general one (TSH I think) and they always came back in normal range according to my Dr.'s. I insisted something was wrong and finally found a Dr. who made out a lab requisition for a more complete test. My results came back high, not low so I am really confused. If I have most of the symptoms of an underactive thyroid, how can my ranges be high? The Dr. I saw said I needed to see an endocrinologist that he couldn't prescribe medicine to me because my situation was a tricky one. Here are my results:

TSH - 2.48 ( lab range is 0.4 - 4)
TOTAL T4 - 7.69 (lab range is 4.5 - 12.5)
FREE T3 - 4.8 (high) (lab range is 1.8 - 4.2)
FREE T4 - 1.43 (lab range is 0.8 - 1.9)
THYROID UPTAKE - 44.80 (high) (lab range is 21-38)